❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 21

D a y  2 1 – the first novel you remember reading.

❝If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it myself. ❞

Rick Riordan, The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief is probably the first novel that I read. Now, don’t get me wrong, I read plenty before I read that, but the books that I used to read were all children’s books, they don’t exactly count as ‘novels’. Junie B. Jones, Gooney Bird Greene, Ivy and Bean, Geronimo Stilton, Ramona and Beezus, Judy Moody, Flat Stanley, Captain Underpants, The Boxcar Children, Candy Apple books; you know, all those books that are still all the rage among kids nowadays.

I remember reading The Lightning Thief back when I was in fourth grade. It’s kind of creepy that I still remember all the details but it feels like it happened just yesterday. So, my friend (Hebba) and I were quite the book addicts, and this one day she saw The Lightning Thief lying in our class bookshelf and totally went nuts because “IT IS SUCH AN AMAZING BOOK AND I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S HERE, ERMAHGERD,” her words, not mine. So I, being the natural actress that I am, went along and started squealing with her (do note that I’d never ever heard of The Lightning Thief).

Then I think Past Me felt guilty so she actually read The Lightning Thief and ended up loving it. Thanks, Hebba! So I read the whole series and then I ended up realizing that mythology is legit so cool so I started reading Heroes of Olympus. And that, lads and lasses, is how I got into Rick Riordan books.

That’s all for today, see you around. ✌️

β₯ 30-day book challenge posts

day 01Β //Β day 02Β //Β day 03Β //Β day 04Β //Β day 05Β //Β day 06Β //Β day 07Β //Β day 08Β //Β day 09//Β day 10Β //Β day 11Β //Β day 12Β //Β day 13Β //Β day 14Β //Β day 15Β //Β day 16Β //Β day 17Β // day 18 // day 19 // day 20 // day 21 // day 22 // day 23 // day 24 // day 25 // day 26 // day 27 // day 28 // day 29 // day 30 //

16 thoughts on “❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 21

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started