❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 19

D a y  1 9 – favorite book turned into a movie.

❝I am really not a girl to fall in love with. For one thing, I don’t like temporary, nonprovable things, and romantic love is both temporary and nonprovable. ❞

NICOLA YOON, THE SUN IS ALSO A STAR

I’m waiting for this one like mad, the trailer has me sitting on the edge of my seat. Not even kidding, watch it.

I love this book with a whole different kind of passion, it ignites the fire in my soul. Seriously though, have you even read it?! (If you haven’t, you have no idea what I’m talking about; if you have, you may or may not agree with me.)

How can someone not like a book which has quotes like these:

❝ You’re just looking for someone to save you. Save yourself. ❞

– Natasha to Daniel

❝ When they say the heart wants what it wants, they’re talking about the poetic heartβ€”the heart of love songs and soliloquies, the one that can break as if it were just-formed glass. They’re not talking about the real heart, the one that only needs healthy foods and aerobic exercise. But the poetic heart is not to be trusted. It is fickle and will lead you astray. It will tell you that all you need is love and dreams. It will say nothing about food and water and shelter and money. It will tell you that this person, the one in front of you, the one who caught your eye for whatever reason, is the One. And he is. And she is. The Oneβ€”for right now, until his heart or her heart decides on someone else or something else. The poetic heart is not to be trusted with long-term decision-making. ❞

❝ Human beings are not reasonable creatures. Instead of being ruled by logic, we are ruled by emotions. The world would be a happier place if the opposite were true. ❞

❝ If the person who’s meant to love you forever can suddenly stop, then what is there to believe in? ❞


❝ Still, getting over him didn’t take that long at all. And that’s the thing that makes me wary. Where did all those feelings go? People spend their whole lives looking for love. Poems and songs and entire novels are written about it. But how can you trust something that can end as suddenly as it begins? ❞

❝ The half-life of a substance is the time it takes for it to lose one half of its initial value…In love, it’s the amount of time it takes for lovers to feel half of what they once did. When Natasha thinks about love, this is what she thinks: nothing lasts forever…Love has an infinitesimally small half-life that decays to nothing. And when it’s gone, it’s like it was never there at all. ❞

Okay, I think I should stop now. There are so many quotes in this book that deserve to be mentioned, ugh. If you’ve read all those quotes and still don’t want to read the book, I honestly don’t know what to do with you.

I remember making my friends read various bits and pieces from this book in order to persuade them into reading it. xD Amber has witnessed the whole fangirl phase that I went through, constantly nagging my friends to read The Sun Is Also A Star because it was just so deep and geeky and philosophical…

I still haven’t gotten over it and I’d recommend it to anyone without a second of doubt. It’s one of the most brilliant and praise-worthy books I’ve read. And don’t even get me started on all the science in it.

I CAN’T WAIT FOR MAY 17TH.

That’s all for today, see you around. ✌️

β₯ 30-day book challenge posts

day 01Β //Β day 02Β //Β day 03Β //Β day 04Β //Β day 05Β //Β day 06Β //Β day 07Β //Β day 08Β //Β day 09//Β day 10Β //Β day 11Β //Β day 12Β //Β day 13Β //Β day 14Β //Β day 15Β //Β day 16Β //Β day 17Β // day 18 // day 19 // day 20 // day 21 // day 22 // day 23 // day 24 // day 25 // day 26 // day 27 // day 28 // day 29 // day 30 //

16 thoughts on “❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 19

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started