❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 12

D a y  1 2 – a book you love but hate at the same time.

❝ So how, children, does the brain, which lives without a spark of light, build for us a world full of light? ❞

ANTHONY DOERR, ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

I think this is the only book which I love but hate at the same time. Like, how can one even love and hate a book at the same time, amirite? Well, I didn’t think it was possible until I thought about it for some time. See, you might love a book to the moon and back, but there may be this one specific part which you hate and would want to change if given the chance, you get me?

All the Light We Cannot See is that book for me, I love everything about it; apart from the ending. Now, I’ll be a good human being and I won’t spoil it for you but let me tell you, it’s not a happy ending. I mean, it kind of is, to some extent, but something terrible is going to happen. Something that every (almost every) reader would like to change, I think. (Hint: kind of like The Fault In Our Stars.)

Well, if you want to know what that terrible thing is, I guess you have to read the book yourself. (By the way, it’s a really good book. I think I’m biased because it’s about World War 2 and I love all books that are about WW2 but still, do read it sometime.)

It has two main characters: Marie-Laure, a blind French girl living in Paris; Werner, an orphan living in Germany. Doerr writes the book from both of their point of views, which makes it so much more engaging for the readers. I personally prefer books which have been narrated by a wide variety of the characters, but it depends on the book, I suppose.

I’d go on but I’m afraid that’d mean spoiling the book so I guess this is my cue to shut up. READ THE BOOK, HUMAN. IT’S A GOOD ONE. If you don’t believe me, hear them say it:

❝ Doerr sees the world as a scientist, but feels it as a poet. He knows about everything – radios, diamonds, molluscs, birds, flowers, locks, guns – but he also writes a line so beautiful, creates an image or scene so haunting, it makes you think forever differently about the big things – love, fear, cruelty, kindness, the countless facets of the human heart… Doerr’s new novel is that novel, the one you savour, and ponder, and happily lose sleep over, then go around urging all your friends to read – now. ❞

J. R. MOEHRINGER, author of Sutton and The Tender Bar

❝ A tender exploration of this world’s paradoxes; the beauty of the laws of nature and the terrible ends to wish war subverts them; the frailty and the resilience of the human heart; the immutability of a moment and the healing power of time… A compelling and uplifting novel. ❞

M. L. STEDMAN, author of The Light Between Oceans

❝ Few authors can so gently – yet resolutely – pull readers into such deep understanding of and connection with their characters. Each and every person in this finely spun assemblage is distinct and true. All, even the most heroic and likable, are flawed in some way, as real people are… Most utterly unforgettable, long after the last page has been turned. ❞

SHARON PETERS, USA Today

That’s all for today, see you around. ✌

β₯ 30-day book challenge posts

day 01Β //Β day 02Β //Β day 03Β //Β day 04Β //Β day 05Β //Β day 06Β //Β day 07Β //Β day 08Β //Β day 09//Β day 10Β //Β day 11Β //Β day 12Β //Β day 13Β //Β day 14Β //Β day 15Β //Β day 16Β //Β day 17Β // day 18 // day 19 // day 20 // day 21 // day 22 // day 23 // day 24 // day 25 // day 26 // day 27 // day 28 // day 29 // day 30 //

❝ Of all the lies I heard, I love you was my favorite. ❞

17 thoughts on “❝ 30-Day Book Challenge ❞ | day 12

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started